Katsura Yamauchi Mori

JVT0022 (Jvtlandt 2022)


Release: 20/12/2022


- Select your location under Shopping Cart to see prices -
- 価格を確認するには左のカート内にある地域を選択してください -





01. Mori / モリ
02. Saine / サイネ
03. Seseragi / Stream / セセラギ
04. Ike / Pond / イケ
05. Mori / モリ 
06. Kamisam / カミサン 
07. Fuzuki / フヅキ 
08. Rise / ライズ
09. Mori / モリ 
10. Kihou / キホウ 
11. Kigi / Trees / キギ
12. Salmo / サルモ
13. Mori / モリ 
14. Arko / アーコ 
15. Irrawaddy /イラワジ
16. Uzo / ウゾウ

Total: 44 min.





Solo pieces for sopranino saxophone
Wandering in the forest, heading towards the light

Katsura Yamauchi (Salmosax) / 山内桂: sopranino sax
Compositions by Katsura Yamauchi
Recorded in Oita, Japan by Katsura Yamauchi on 20 & 22 02/2022
Mastering by Koichiro Satake / 佐竹綱一郎
Cover design & photos by Katsura Yamauchi  




- Select your location under Shopping Cart to see prices -
- 価格を確認するには左のカート内にある地域を選択してください -



Get Mori on Bandcamp





Katsura Yamauchi returns with a new solo album 15 years following his last, this time in the form of a historical first: An album of original compositions exclusively for sopranino saxophone. Continuing the main theme of Yamauchi’s works - the expression of the sensations of the natural environment in musical form - the album is austere but lyrical, striking but warm, direct but elegant.


Katsura Yamauchi (b. 1954)

Katsura Yamauchi picked up his first saxophone in the early 1970s and was quickly drawn to modern jazz, avant-garde and free improvisation. Born in Beppu, far from the traditional creative centers around the bigger cities of Japan, Yamauchi was until recently relatively unknown, but has now shown himself to be one of the most unique musicians in Japan.

For years Katsura Yamauchi was sporadically active as both musician and concert organizer and helped arrange performances in Japan for veteran musicians from both the USA and Europe, such as Derek Bailey, Peter Brötzmann and Milford Graves.
Not until 2002 did he quit his regular job to dedicate himself fully to music. Yamauchi was influenced by the new experimental sounds coming from Tokyo, but had developed his own original style, mixing improvisation and minimalism with melodic elements. The music is at the same time challenging and easily accessible, unrecognizable and beautiful.

Katsura Yamauchi has released several solo CDs and recorded with Michel Doneda, Gunter Müller and Norbert Möslang from Voice Crack and performed with Taku Unami, I.S.O., Misha Mengelberg, Tatsuya Nakatani, Sharif Sehnaoui, Jason Kahn, Otomo Yoshihide, sachiko M, Barre Phillips, Kim Dae-Hwan, Gino Robair, Toshinori Kondo, Yoshimitsu Ichiraku, Travassos, Toshimaru Nakamura, Seijiro Murayama, Han Bennink and many others. His latest group, Sagaing, released their debut titled “Aki” on Jvtlandt in 2020.

In addition to extensive activity in Japan, Katsura Yamauchi has toured the USA and several times in Europe. He has performed at many international festivals, including Musique Innovatrices, Castello Canalis, Beppu Contemporary Art Festival, Ftarri Festival, Amplify Festival and Asian Meeting Festival.

"Katsura Yamauchi is really both a new and a veteran artist... I am greatly refreshed by his energetic and confident performance."
- Otomo Yoshihide, July 2003